Posted by: raisingmustardseeds | March 26, 2014

Oceanophobia

Oceanophobia

by anonymous 🙂

The sea, which sometimes looks dark and ominous, terrifies me horribly.  As a tenderhearted young child, my well-meaning parents allowed my brother and I to watch the blockbuster movie “Jaws”.  Consequently I had the most miserable nightmares.  I would be in the sea thrashing about because I could not swim, and a shark would come and gnaw my leg off.  I often hoped that they would, instead, swallow me whole, just like Jonah.  As you can see, this fear was quite unreasonable, since one would have a greater chance of being hit by a car than eaten by a shark.  So if you want to petrify a child and produce oceanophobia, go ahead and let him watch “Jaws”.

Responses

  1. The fear of the sea/ocean is called Thalassophobia. Welcome to the internet….


Leave a Reply

Categories

