Posted by: raisingmustardseeds | January 14, 2012

Photo A Day Challenge

A friend from church started a facebook group in which participants would post a photo a day based on a list generated by fatmumslim.

This was timely for me, as two of my resolutions this year are to 1)figure out how to use our Nikon DSLR (which we picked up 5 years ago!) and 2) take more photographs. As our friend so accurately observed & described – MS dad & I looked tortured every time we were using our camera at church! hahaha.

We started last week and so far this is what I’ve got.

Day 1: You


Self-portrait – Taken in the bathroom of Great Wolf Lodge, Niagara Falls in the middle of the night

Day 2: Breakfast – I haven’t done this day’s assignment.

Day 3: Something You Adore

Something I Adore: Baby fat & dimpled fingers!

Day 4: Letterbox

Letterbox v.2. – You got mail

(v.1 got knocked down by a car trying to stop on a slippery hill. Our mailbox saved it from going down the gully. Haven’t gotten around to painting v.2 – hence the 2 toned post. And now, realizing that I didn’t take out my mail after shooting this photo)

Day 5: Something You Wore

Something I Wore….15 years ago at my wedding reception.

(the candy stripe is Big Mac subbing as my hanger)

Day 6: Makes You Smile

Makes Me Smile…my children playing nicely together

(And after taking this shot, I realized that a lot of other things in it makes me smile. On the left mantle – 1) the cross-stitch on the far left corner represents a weekend of all-nighters to complete for MS dad 20 years ago :), 2) next to it, a series of family collages (my side) compiled by my mum who is now with the Lord. On the right mantle, 3) the picture frame that was a present for my first-born 12 years ago – my introduction to motherhood. On both mantles, 4) the christmas garlands (that really should be taken down now) that I put up for the first time in MANY years, just because my children REALLY love to decorate the house for Christmas; and last but not least 5) the blazing fire in the woodstove which keeps us warm and cozy and reminds me how blessed we are to be in this home.  And thus endeth my essay.)

That’s where I am right now.  Now off to complete Day 7 – Favourite.

I’ll be posting regularly this month with my photos.  Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

Categories

