Posted by: raisingmustardseeds | September 14, 2008

Life is rushing by

In a big way. Baby will be 2 months old tomorrow (Monday). Which means MS dad has been home for 2 whole months. Which should mean that I’ve accomplished infinitely more, what with the extra pair of adult hands. Should is the operative word.

While mulling over my apparent lack of accomplishments over the past 2 months, I’ve come to the conclusion that I’m being spoilt with the presence of my dear husband 24/7. He puts it more bluntly… his presence is hindering my ability to get things done.

Don’t get me wrong – we LOVE having him home. But I’m so used to the “Oh, daddy’s home, it’s his turn to take care of you (the children)” mentality. And then I go veg out. Well, not veg out totally, but I’ll do some work on the computer, putter around, etc.

So this new thing of having him home for the next little while (until June next year) will take some brain adjustments on all our parts. I’ve tried the “ok, pretend daddy’s NOT home and he’s at work”, and I’ve got to stop running errands with only some of the children, or worse none of them (although it’s SO tempting!)

Then there’s another downside of having him at home – he’s hindering my weight loss program. haha. Because I’m not as busy as I would normally have been, I’m not losing the weight as easily. With #4, I was able to whittle down the weight really quickly because I simply didn’t have the luxury of time to stuff my face silly.

Alright. That’s it. I’m putting my foot down. My poor aching flat foot, thanks to the extra weight I’ve put on. Do you know how sad it is to be putting ON weight AFTER the baby is born???! I’m supposed to LOSE the weight, not PUT IT ON! ARGHHHH.

Sorry, I digress. What was I saying? Oh yes, I’m putting my foot down. From today on, wait, maybe tomorrow onwards…I have some yummy curry chicken I need to consume today. Yes, starting tomorrow, I will go on a strict diet. I will not eat throughout the day. I will not inhale every morsel of food that I see in my kitchen. I will stop buying those evil vanilla wafers that beckon to me everytime I walk down the grocery aisle. I will stop joining MS dad in his almost-nightly ritual of snacking.

I will stuff myself silly today.

How did this become a post about weight loss? Sorry. The fat’s gone to the brain.

Responses

  1. Well do some workout and tummy exercise. Cut down on sugary food. Losing weight and girth will become difficult with the passage of time. speaking from experience of the past year. Eat healthy, work healthy, exercise and rest. All essential. Get the whole family to do exercise together and have fun !

  2. You are really funny! šŸ˜€


Leave a Reply

Categories

