Posted by: raisingmustardseeds | April 2, 2007

My Closet Story

I shared in my earlier post on my first blogging anniversary that I received an Owlhaven blog award for an entry in one of her posts. 

I’ve cut and pasted my post to the question of “What’s the oldest thing in your closet and why are you holding on to it?”:

I have tucked away in a vacuum-packed bag a knitted blue button-down cardigan that I bought for my mum 21 years ago. She wore it so often that it started to get all worn out.

Mum and dad were staying with us when my 2nd daughter was born. And as all doting grandmas do, my mum would carry the baby pretty much the whole day. A good thing too, as this baby was a SCREAMER. The only thing that would calm her down was for “mama” to rock her. Even I was unsuccessful in soothing her.

There were many nights where I was at my wits end because the baby just wouldn’t stop crying. We finally figured out the only way to get her to sleep in the crib was to wrap my mum’s blue cardigan around her, so that she would think she was still being held by my mum. It worked like a charm.

My mum was battling cancer at the time and I have pictures of her rocking my baby to sleep, while having her oxygen tubes trailing behind her.

My mum went to be with the Lord when my daughter was 2.5 years old.

A few months ago, as I was reminiscing with my children about mama, I pulled out the bag with the sweater in it. At that point, my daughter burst into tears. And not just silent tears rolling down her cheeks, but sobbing that wracked her little body. I was in shock. When I asked her why she was crying, she told me that she missed my mum and proceeded to sob even louder.

I tried my best to comfort her, without falling apart myself. It took a good hour before her sobs subsided. It was heart-wrenching to say the least.

My little girl had a special connection with my mum. I never knew how special until that incident. She is 5 years old.

That cardigan will be going with me wherever we go, until I can pass it onto my daughter.

Leave a Reply

Categories

