Posted by: raisingmustardseeds | March 10, 2007

Splitting Hairs

A few weeks ago, I found my 5 yo daughter scrubbing the bathroom sink with her toothbrush!

I screamed in shock asked her calmly what possessed her to think that that was a good thing to do.  Apparently the toothpaste had fallen off her toothbrush, and she was trying to pick it up (and clean the sink while she was at it?!!!)  I gave her a 15 minute lecture on germs and mouth sores and such, while trying desperately to recall when I last cleaned my sink.

After finishing my tirade motherly lecture, I turned to my 7 yo who was watching the entire scene unfold in silence.  This is the conversation that took place.

Me: Did you do the same thing?

7yo: What?

Me: Did you use your toothbrush to brush the sink???

7yo: No?

Me: ARE YOU SURE? 

7yo: No, I didn’t brush the sink with my toothbrush.

Me: So you don’t brush the sink with your toothbrush?

7yo: YES! REALLY, mummy! I NEVER use my toothbrush to brush the sink.

(this time I catch the emphasis on the word “brush”) 

Me: You don’t BRUSH the sink with your toothbrush. WHAT do you do with your toothbrush then?  Do you PUT it on the sink, does the brush touch the sink???? It sounds like your toothbrush does something in the sink!?

7yo: Well….sometimes the toothpaste falls off my brush into the sink, and I PICK it back up WITH my toothbrush.  But I don’t BRUSH the sink.  

Me:PLEEEASE! IF THE TOOTHPASTE FALLS INTO THE SINK, DO NOT DO NOT PICK IT UP WITH YOUR TOOTHBRUSH.  (Mummy doesn’t clean the sink that often!!!)

Lessons learned:

1) Clean the bathroom more often

2) Ask the right questions

3) My 7yo is becoming legalistic

Leave a Reply

Categories

